The Cross Stitch Forum » CSG Forum

Cross Stitch Kits - Do you love them or hate them?

(11 posts)

No tags yet.

1. FifiT

My name is Fiona Townsend and I am a third year student on the BA Hand Embroidery degree course at the Royal School of Needlework. I am currently researching and writing my dissertation on the significant increase in popularity of kits over the last 50 years. I am carrying out a survey amongst embroiderers to find out their opinions on the relevance of cross-stitch kits today. I would be really grateful if you could spend a few minutes answering the following questions to help me with my research. I will keep all of your answers anonymous and confidential.

1) For what reason would you complete a cross stitch kit?
    2) How many kits do you do per year?
    3) Do you enjoy doing kits and why?
    4) Do you prefer cross stitch kits or free hand embroidery?
    5) Do you think there are any disadvantages to embroidery kits? If yes, what are they and why?

Thank you very much for your time.

Posted 10 years ago #
  2. Janet Nicholl

I complete a kit because it's one I have chosen and like (usually).
    Probably around 10 - depending on the size and/or complexity.
    I enjoy kits because I am not very good at design and there are soooo many wonderful designers out there I don't need to do my own.
    I prefer cross stitch - or to be correct "counted stitch" projects on even weave linen. Just cross stitch is boring ( but occasionally light relief if it's a small project). In the main I prefer kits with a good variety of stitch types. Also black work, hardanger, etc but still kits.
    The only disadvantage (not very often) in a kit is when they are short of thread and it is hard to find if it is a speciality one such as a space dyed.